Recover password

30 NM seniors get Comcast scholarships

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Comcast NBCUniversal has awarded $39,000 in scholarships to 30 New Mexico high school seniors, including 11 in the Albuquerque area and one $10,000 scholarship to Adriana Torrez of Valley High School.

The following students will each receive $1,000 scholarships: Macleod Adams, Del Norte High School; Kendra Becenti, Eldorado High School; Neal Bitsie, St. Pius X High School; Rowan Hart, La Cueva High School; Camille Slim, Native American Community Academy; Joshua Soliz, Manzano High School; Haley Tapia, Volcano Vista High School; Paris Valencia, Tierra Adentro of New Mexico; Syranda Wiley de Navarro, Public Academy of Performing Arts; Rinad Yousef, Albuquerque Institute of Math & Science; Jesus Zavala, Atrisco Heritage Academy High School.

The scholarships are part of the company’s annual Leaders and Achievers Scholarship Program. The program, funded by the Comcast Foundation, recognizes the best and brightest high school seniors for their community service, academic performance and leadership skills, according to a news release.

“We are honored to recognize their achievements, and excited to support them as they continue their educational journeys,” said Chris Dunkeson, area vice president, Comcast New Mexico, in a statement.

One student, Torrez, was selected to receive an additional $9,000 Comcast Founders Scholarship, which was instituted in honor of Ralph J. Roberts, founder and chairman emeritus of Comcast Corp.

Other $1,000 New Mexico scholarship winners were: Yadira Trigo, Belen High School; Cameron Martinez, Bernalillo High School; Antonio Lopez, Bloomfield High School; Nizhoni Tallas, Navajo Preparatory School; Dade Lincoln, Gallup High School; Dineah Peterson, Middle College High School; Yisell Arias, Las Montañas Charter High School; Jacob Hammond, Mayfield High School; Olivia Weinbaum, Centennial High School; Antonio Zamora, Oñate High School; Victoria Valdez, Robertson High School; Morgan McCall, Moriarty High School; Brittany Santibanez, Portales High School; Camille Gonzales, Raton High School; James Garcia, Pojoaque Valley High School; Dana Jose, Academy for Technology and the Classics; Kevin Duron Martinez, Capital High School; Kate Sokulsky-Boyce, Silver High School.

This year, the program will award more than $2 million in scholarships to more than 2,000 students across the country to help them pursue higher education.

To learn more, visit the Comcast Leaders and Achievers Facebook page:

We welcome suggestions for the daily Bright Spot. Send to