Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Aragon top privately funded council campaign

The privately funded campaign of Robert Aragon raised and spent the most of the 14 candidates seeking seats on the City Council, according to finance reports filed Friday.

Aragon, one of three candidates for the open District 5 seat, received $38,150 in contributions – including $15,000 he contributed to his own campaign – and spent $11,917, he reported.

An attorney and former state representative, Aragon received the most in contributions of the eight privately financed candidates in the period April 1 through July 13.

Aragon received 16 contributions of $850 each. They are:

Antoinette Greenlee and James Greenlee, construction and engineering; Dominique Trujillo, real estate; Ashlee Aragon, health care and medical; Robert Moss, law; Zeke Chavez, insurance; Josie Aragon, retired; Christina Chen, health care and medical; Robert Jenkins II, law; Angie Muller, retired; The New Beginnings, disability services; Christine Ann Valdez, health care and medical; Kylee Aragon, general business; Max Garcia, retired; Bernice Herrera, retired; and Monique Alarcon, general business.

Another privately financed candidate, Councilor Klarissa Peña, the District 3 incumbent, received $9,821 in contributions and spent $1,465.

Peña receive two contributions of $800 each from Bosque Investment, a business group, and Walter Gordahl, a real estate professional.

Paul Ryan McKenney, a District 9 candidate, received an $875 contribution from Albuquerque attorney Don Bruckner.

Six City Council candidates have qualified for public funding. Publicly financed candidates receive $1 for every voter in their district, ranging from $38,131 in District 1 to $46,382 in District 7.

Publicly funded candidates reported their expenditures. They are: Javier Benavidez, District 1, $9,394; Johnny Luevano, District 1, $5,456; Ken Sanchez, District 1 incumbent, $655; Cynthia Borrego, District 5, $4,119; Diane Gibson, District 7 incumbent, $2,489; and Don Harris, District 9 incumbent, $7,282.