Recover password

Principals doing shuffle at elementary, middle schools

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Albuquerque Public Schools has named a variety of new principals at elementary schools and middle schools for the 2012-13 school year:

♦ Mary Ellen Farrelly, the current principal at Emerson Elementary, will be principal at Los Padillas. She replaces Sara Keeney, who is retiring.

♦ Deanne Golleher, the principal at Corrales Elementary, will be principal at Griegos. She replaces Tom Graham, who is retiring. Trish Steimer of Bernalillo will take Golleher’s place at Corrales.

♦ Jill Vice, the principal at Governor Bent Elementary, will head John Baker Elementary. Vice replaces Denise Brigman, who will head to Emerson.


Continue reading

♦ Patricia Sanchez, the current principal at Alamosa, will move to Sombra del Monte to head that school.

♦ Rose White, the principal at Barcelona Elementary, has been named principal at Armijo.

♦ Penelope Buschardt, the assistant principal at La Mesa Elementary, will head to Hawthorne Elementary. Jude Garcia, the principal at Hawthorne, will become principal at Sandia Base. Blair Kaufman, Sandia Base’s principal, will take the reins at Matheson Park.

♦ Stephen Pino, Mission Avenue principal, will head to Alamosa. Stephen Maresca, the current principal at Matheson Park, will move to Mission Avenue.

♦ Sandy Fernandez will remain the interim principal at S.R. Marmon.

♦ Venesee Mildren, the current principal at A. Montoya Elementary, will lead Lew Wallace.

At the middle school level:

♦ Ed Bortot, assistant principal at Manzano High School, will be principal of Kennedy Middle School. Bortot replaces Barbara Williamson, who is retiring.

♦ Holly Beiler Gurule, assistant principal at the Career Enrichment Center, will be principal at John Adams Middle School. Gurule replaces Dante Tuton, who is retiring.