Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Urlacher will enter College Football Hall of Fame

NEW YORK — Brian Urlacher, one of the most celebrated athletes in University of New Mexico history, will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Tuesday night.

The Lovington High School grad was a two-time football All-American for the Lobos under coach Rocky Long. Long, and Dennis Franchione, who recruited Urlacher to UNM, are expected to be in attendance at the National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Urlacher, a Lobo from 1996-99, will be the first UNM player to be inducted into the college hall. He was the Mountain West Conference defensive player of the year in 1999 when he recorded 154 tackles, forced five fumbles, recovered three fumbles, broke up seven passes, scored seven touchdowns and averaged 15.8 yards a punt return.

The former Lobo is also a semifinalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame after his stellar career with the Chicago Bears.

Urlacher will be inducted along with players Peyton Manning (Tennessee), Marshall Faulk (San Diego State), Kirk Gibson (Michigan State), Matt Leinart (Southern California), Bob Crable (Notre Dame), Bob McKay (Texas), Dat Nguyen (Texas A&M), Adrian Peterson (Georgia Southern) and Mike Ruth (Boston College. Coaches Danny Ford (Clemson, Arkansas), Larry Kehres (Mount Union) and Steve Spurrier (Duke, Florida, South Carolina) will also be inducted.

The dinner ceremony from 6:30-10:30 p.m. can be watched via livestream on