Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password



Social Security Made SIMPLE, a free seminar by Lee Munson, CFA, CFP, at noon on Thursday at the Erna Fergusson Library, 3700 San Mateo NE. Learn the basics, some advanced strategies, and how to avoid mistakes — all in plain English. For advance registration or additional information, call 505-884-3445 or email


Brett C. Eaton

Brett C. Eaton has been promoted by Butt Thornton & Baehr to shareholder. Eaton has a law degree from the University of New Mexico. He represents clients in the areas of trucking and transportation, civil rights, retail litigation, and complex litigation.

Robert F. Gentile has been promoted by Guebert Bruckner PC to partner in the firm. Gentile practices in the areas of civil litigation including wrongful death, catastrophic person injury, product defect liability, premises liability and medical malpractice. He joined the firm in 2013 and previously worked as the deputy district attorney in San Juan County. The firm’s new name will be Guebert Bruckner Gentile P.C.



Amanda “Mandi” George has joined Del Norte Credit Union as a mortgage loan officer on the real estate team at the credit union’s Los Alamos branch. George has 10 years’ experience in the financial services industry. She has a bachelor’s degree from Mesa State College.

Shelly Minish

Shelly Minish, PA-C, has joined the Lovelace Medical Group as a certified physician assistant (PA-C) specializing in caring for urology patients. Minish has extensive clinical experience in treating and managing a wide array of urologic conditions, urinary tract infections, erectile dysfunction, hypogonadism, and incontinence and has specialized training in InterStim. She has a bachelor’s degree in nursing from Washington State University; and a master’s degree in clinical health services from the University of Washington.

Butt Thornton & Baehr has hired three new associate attorneys. They are:

Felecia Cantwell previously worked as a college professor and served as a department chair at New Mexico State University’s Carlsbad campus. She also previously worked for the firm as a law clerk during law school. She has a law degree from UNM.

Sarah Shore previously worked as a litigator for New York City’s Administration for Children’s Services and served as a director of the board of Restore NYC; as a law clerk for the Honorable Stanley R. Chesler of the U.S. District Court of New Jersey; and as a law clerk for the Honorable Robert Kirsch of the Superior Court of Union County, N.J. She has a law degree from UNM.

Michelle Timm previously worked as a legal assistant working in the areas of personal injury, worker’s compensation and domestic relations. She also previously clerked for Butt Thornton & Baehr PC while attending law school. She has a law degree from UNM.

Michael Wright

Michael Wright has joined Sites Southwest as an urban planner. Wright has experience in transportation planning and historical preservation and planning. He has a bachelor’s degree in community and regional planning from Iowa State University; and a master’s degree in community and regional planning and a certificate in historic preservation, both from UNM.

Jeff Slopek has joined Klinger Constructors as a project manager. Slopek has a bachelor’s degree in construction management from UNM.

Tashima Wildrose has joined Girl Scouts of New Mexico Trails as the regional manager for Santa Fe, Los Alamos and Rio Arriba counties. Wildrose has extensive experience and previously worked for 11 years at Big Brothers Big Sisters as a program manager and previously was a preschool teacher.


The Anderson School of Management at the University of New Mexico has announced its 2018 Hall of Fame, Young Alumni honorees and the Faculty Community Leadership recipient.

Stephine Poston

The 2018 Hall of Fame honorees are Gary Gordon, Albuquerque Academy; Sheila Mendez, PNM Resources; Stephine Poston, Poston & Associates; and Anthony Trujillo, HOLMANS USA.

The 2018 Young Alumni Award recipients are Matthew Sanchez, Jaynes Corp.; and Daniel Trujillo, Kubiak Melton & Asso-ciates.

The Faculty Community Leadership Award will honor Distinguished Professor Sul Kassicieh, Ph.D., former Endowed Chair in Economic Development at UNM and Chair of finance, international, technology and entrepreneurship department at Anderson. Kassicieh died in 2017, leaving an impressive legacy at the university.


The New Mexico Veterinary Medical Association (NMVMA) has elected new officers. They are Daniel Levenson, DVM – owner of the Southwest Veterinary Medical Center and the Rio Grande Animal Hospital, president; Anne Hale, DVM, of Placitas, president-elect; Bonnie Synder, DVM, Ph.D., of Stanley, treasurer; and Emily Walker, DVM, of Albuquerque, immediate past president.

Mona Ghattas

The New Mexico Pharmacists Association (NMPhA) has elected new officers 2018. They are Danny Cross, president; Mona Ghattas, 1st vice president; Brian Hunt, 2nd vice president; April Cross, 3rd vice president; John Denslow, treasurer; and Teri Rolan, immediate past president.