Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Moya brothers to be honored at NM Sports Hall of Fame banquet

The Moya brothers, New Mexico golf legends Billy and Eddie, will be presented the New Mexico Sports Hall of Fame’s Award of Distinction at the NMSHOF induction banquet on April 8.

Other annual honorees include:

Houston Astros teammates and world champions Alex Bregman and Kenny Giles, Professional Athetes of the Year.

UNM track and field and cross country coach Joe Franklin, Collegiate Coach of the Year.

Franklin’s NCAA champion women’s cross country team, Collegiate Team of the Year.

UNM’s Josh Kerr, the reigning NCAA indoor mile and outdoor 1,500 meters champion, Collegiate Male Athlete of the Year.

UNM’s Ednah Kurgat, the 2017 NCAA women’s individual cross country champion, Collegiate Female Athlete of the Year.

Manzano football coach Chad Adcox, Melrose football coach Dickie Roybal and La Cueva tennis coach Dick Johnson, High School Coaches of the Year.

Adcox’s Class 6A state champion Manzano Monarchs, the High School Team of the Year.

Manzano quarterback Jordan Byrd, High School Male Athlete of the Year.

Cleveland’s Amanda Mayoral, the 2017 6A cross country champion and the 3,200-meter champ on the track, High School Female Athlete of the Year.

The Coleman Vision Tennis Championships, Sporting Event of the Year.

This year’s NMSHOF inductees are:

Pam Allen, longtime New Mexico high school volleyball and track coach.

Rick Galles, whose Galles Auto Racing team won an Indianapolis 500 and a Championship Auto Racing Teams title.

Roy Gerela, a former New Mexico State kicker who won three Super Bowl rings with the Pittsburgh Steelers.

Dr. Ron Maestas, an age-group racquetball champion who coached the New Mexico Highlands University cross country program to national prominence.

Dr. Anthony Sandoval, a Truchas native, Los Alamos High School graduate and Stanford All-American who won the 1980 U.S. Olympic marathon trials — only to be deprived of his trip to Moscow by President Jimmy Carter’s Olympic boycott.

The late Johnny Tapia, a five-time world professional boxing champion, a two-time Golden Gloves national amateur champion and a 2017 inductee into the International Boxing Hall of Fame.

John Wooten, a Carlsbad football and basketball star, an All-American at the University of Colorado and a nine-year NFL veteran with the Cleveland Browns and Washington Redskins.

Tickets for the banquet are on sale at a reduced price until

Feb. 28 on



Suggested on ABQjournal