Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

The Anderson School of Management Announces the 2018 Hall of Fame Honorees

Presented by: Anderson School of Management

The Anderson School of Management is the business school of the University of New Mexico (UNM). Anderson was the first professional school of management established in the state of New Mexico.

The Anderson School Hall of Fame celebrates extraordinary alumni who have achieved professional success and have made significant contributions to their community.

The 2018 Hall of Fame event is Tuesday, March 6 at Sandia Casino. The banquet and scholarship fundraiser includes a live auction and raffle sale with all the proceeds going to support student scholarships at the Anderson School.

Meet the 2018 outstanding Hall of Fame Honorees:

  • Gary Gordon, Albuquerque Academy, BBA, 1983
  • Sheila Mendez, PNM Resources, BBA, 1991
  • Stephine Poston, Poston & Associates, BBA, 1990
  • Anthony Trujillo, HOLMANS USA, BBA, 1991


Gary Gordon is the chief legal and financial officer at the Albuquerque Academy. He earned his BBA in 1983 from UNM Anderson and his Juris Doctorate in 1986 from the UNM School of Law. Before going to the Albuquerque Academy Gary was a trial lawyer with the firm of Miller Stratvert, P.A. in Albuquerque for 23 years.

Sheila Mendez is the Director of Operations Technology and Portfolio/Program Management Office at PNM Resources. Sheila came to UNM on an academic scholarship and was a member of the Lobo Women’s Volleyball team from 1987-1990. She earned her BBA from UNM Anderson in 1991.

Stephine Poston is the owner of Poston & Associates (P&A), a strategic facilitation, marketing, and branding firm with specialized expertise in communication services for Native American entities. Stephine earned her BBA from the UNM Anderson School of Management in 1990. P&A is unique in being both a Native American and a woman owned small business.

Anthony D. Trujillo is President and CEO of HOLMANS USA and the Chairman and Founder of HOLMANS Foundation for Autism. Under Anthony’s leadership HOLMANS USA sales have grown significantly due to a professional and supportive team of employees in sales and operations. Anthony earned his BBA in Finance from UNM Anderson in 1991.

Young Alumni Award recipients are Anderson graduates under the age of 40 who are having an impact on their community and are making great strides in their professional career.

2018 Young Alumni Honorees:

  • Matthew Sanchez, Jaynes Corporation, MBA, 2010
  • Daniel Trujillo, Kubiak Melton & Associates, BBA, 2007, MACCT, 2008


 Matthew C. Sanchez is General Counsel for Jaynes Corporation and The Jaynes Companies, a collection of construction companies operating out of the southwest. Matt is responsible for legal and risk management matters as well as the supervision and strategic direction of the Human Resources Department. Matt earned his MBA from Anderson in 2010 while attending the UNM School of Law as part of the MBA/Juris Doctor duel degree program.

Daniel O. Trujillo earned his BBA in 2007 and a Master of Accounting in 2008 from the Anderson School of Management. He is currently the partner in charge of leading the audit department at Kubiak Melton & Associates (KMA), an Albuquerque based CPA firm. Daniel joined KMA in 2009 and became partner at age 30.

The Faculty Community Leadership Award honors Distinguished Professor Dr. Sul Kassicieh, Anderson alum, past Endowed Chair in Economic Development at UNM and Chair of the Finance, International, Technology and Entrepreneurship Department at Anderson. Dr. Kassicieh passed away in 2017 leaving an impressive legacy at the university. Sul’s career was devoted to collaborations in research projects, teaching in the Management of Technology program, and creating the UNM Business Plan Competition.  Sul earned his BS from UNM in 1974 and MBA from the Anderson School in 1975.

Christopher Carian of the University of New Mexico is the Distinguished Service Award recipient. Christopher is an Architect and Senior Project Manager in the UNM Office of Planning. He oversaw all aspects of the new McKinnon Center for Management (MCM) from design phase to the budget to the actual building of the facility. The MCM ribbon cutting ceremony is Friday, May 11, 2018.

Dean Craig White says the Anderson School is extremely proud of the 2018 Hall of Fame honorees.

“Each honoree demonstrates that hard work and commitment combined with the knowledge and tools provided through a quality business education can lead to long-term personal and career success,” says Dean White. “They provide a great example to both current and future Anderson School students of the possibilities that come with the completion of their degree. It is a pleasure to induct this group of outstanding alumni in to the Anderson School of Management Hall of Fame.”


For information about the 2018 Hall of Fame, contact Darrell Garcia, Sr. Alumni Relations Officer, at 505-277-6264 or