Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Aggie Jones named AP honorable mention All-American

New Mexico State senior forward Jemerrio Jones was named an Associated Press honorable mention All-American today, becoming the third straight year an Aggie player to earn the honor.

The WAC Player of the Year and WAC Tournament MVP averaged 11.0 points, 13.2 rebounds and 3.1 assists per game. He was named WAC Tournament MVP after averaging 18.3 rebounds and 12.3 points over the three tournament games while also breaking the WAC Tournament single game (22) and tournament (55) rebounding records.

Jones leads the nation in defensive rebounds per game (9.5) and total rebounds (450), ranks second in rebounds per game (13.2), third in triple-doubles (1), sixth in double-doubles (21) and 10th in offensive rebounds per game (3.74).

He finished the season with 450 rebounds, a new WAC single-season record. In addition, his 13.24 rebounding average ranks tied for seventh all-time in WAC history. In his two seasons in of WAC play, he posted a rebounding average of 11.5 in WAC games, good for seventh place all-time. Overall, he posted a career average of 10.8 boards per game, good for 12th all-time in the WAC record books.

Jones was also named to the National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) All-District 6 first team and to the and US Basketball Writers Association (USBWA) All-District VIII Team.

Aggies to make the All-America list as an honorable mention selection the previous two years were Pascal Siakam (2016), now with the NBA’s Toronto Raptors, and Ian Baker (2017).

Oklahoma’s Trae Young, Arizona’s Deandre Ayton and Duke’s Marvin Bagley III made history Tuesday by being named to the AP All-America team, the first time three freshmen were named to the first team in its 70-year history.

They were joined by Villanova’s Jalen Brunson and Kansas guard Devonte’ Graham on the first team selected by the same 65-member national media panel that selects the weekly AP Top 25, which includes the Albuquerque Journal’s Geoff Grammer.