Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

O’Malley now unopposed after Democratic challenger withdraws


Debbie O’Malley

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Bernalillo County Commissioner Debbie O’Malley will get the nod as the Democratic nominee for the District 1 seat for November general election after her primary opponent withdrew from the race this week.

Gabriel Parra stated in an email to the Journal that he had withdrawn from the race and that his name had been officially removed from the ballot.

As there are no Republicans in the race, barring a successful write-in campaign, O’Malley will retain her seat for a second term.

O’Malley served as an Albuquerque city councilor from 2003 to 2013.

“As much as campaigning is part of the democratic process, I look forward to working full time on the issues that are important to our district and the county as a whole,” O’Malley stated in an email sent to the Journal and her supporters.

“I want to thank you for your support. Many of you have supported me for many years, and that means a great deal to me.”

In District 5, the only other contested commission seat, James Smith will face Natasha Hadrych-Rosier for the Republican nomination. The winner of that primary will face Democrat Charlene Pyskoty in November.

Smith was sworn in March 27 as District 5 county commissioner, the post previously held by Wayne Johnson, who left after being appointed state auditor by the governor.

Libertarian Michael Wismer stated in an email to the Journal that he has withdrawn from the District 5 race.

“I wish to thank my supporters and the Libertarian Party of New Mexico for their offer of support,” Wismer said. “I withdrew from the race because of my respect for former State Rep. Jim Smith. He has served his constituents well at the state level and I believe he is the best qualified candidate to fill the Bernalillo County Commission District 5 seat.”

The party primaries take place June 5. Early voting starts May 8.