Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

AMC orders a fifth season of ‘Better Call Saul’

From left, Michael Mando as Nacho Varga, Giancarlo Esposito as Gustavo “Gus” Fring, Jonathan Banks as Mike Ehrmantraut, Bob Odenkirk as Jimmy McGill, Rhea Seehorn as Kim Wexler, Patrick Fabian as Howard Hamlin, who star in “Better Call Saul.” (Courtesy of Matthias Clamer/AMC)

One week until the fourth season of “Better Call Saul” premieres — and the series has already been renewed for a fifth season.

The announcement came on Saturday, July 28, at the Television Critics’ Association Press Tour.

Joining “Better Call Saul” for a fifth season is “Fear the Walking Dead.” The AMC series, “McMafia,” was renewed for its second.

“In an environment where viewer choice is almost unlimited, the success of these shows is especially meaningful, with characters and stories that our viewers connect with and return to season after season,” said David Madden, president of original programming for AMC, SundanceTV and AMC Studios. “It’s a privilege to continue collaborating with and sharing the vision of the talented creatives behind these series, and we’re excited to start exploring the next chapter in the lives of these unique and complex characters.”bright spot

The New Mexico-filmed “Better Call Saul” pick up comes ahead of its highly-anticipated season four premiere on Monday, Aug. 6.

The third season ranked as the No. 5 cable drama among adults 25-54. It hovers between 1.5 and 2 million viewers per episode.

“Better Call Saul” is a “Breaking Bad” prequel, focusing on the evolution of the popular Saul Goodman before he became Walter White’s lawyer. The acclaimed series has been nominated for 23 Emmy Awards over the course of its run.

According to the New Mexico Film Office, the production employed 150 New Mexico crew members, 50 to 100 principal actors and about 1,500 people for background talent, the film office said.

It is also housed at Albuquerque Studios.

The show is executive produced by Peter Gould, Vince Gilligan, Mark Johnson, Melissa Bernstein, Thomas Schnauz and Gennifer Hutchison.

The series recently garnered a 2018 Peabody Award, and, over three seasons, has earned two Writers Guild Awards, three Critics’ Choice Awards, a Television Critics Association Award and two AFI Awards for “TV Programs of the Year,” among many other Guild nominations.

Created by Gilligan and Gould, the series stars Bob Odenkirk, Jonathan Banks, Rhea Seehorn, Patrick Fabian, Michael Mando and Giancarlo Esposito.