Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Editorial: Journal selections in the 2018 general election

Here is a recap of Albuquerque Journal endorsements in contested statewide races and races in the Albuquerque metro area, as well as bond issues and amendments on the general election ballot. In-person voting resumes from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.

For the full endorsement editorials, election coverage, candidate profiles and answers to questions on the issues, as well as voting sites, go to and click on the Voter Guide.

U.S. Senate: Martin Heinrich, Democrat

1st Congressional District: Janice Arnold-Jones, Republican

2nd Congressional District: Yvette Herrell, Republican

3rd Congressional District: Ben Ray Luján, Democrat

Governor: Steve Pearce, Republican

Secretary of State: Maggie Toulouse Oliver, Democrat

State Auditor: Brian Colón, Democrat

State Treasurer: Tim Eichenberg, Democrat

Attorney General: Hector Balderas, Democrat

Commissioner of Public Lands: Patrick Lyons, Republican

House District 15: Brad Winter, Republican

House District 17: Deborah Armstrong, Democrat

House District 20: Jim Dines, Republican

House District 22: Gregg William Schmedes, Republican

House District 23: Daymon Ely, Democrat

House District 24: Trey Stephen Morris, Republican

House District 25: Joan Antoinette Marentes, Republican

House District 27: Robert Godshall, Republican

House District 28: Jimmie Hall, Republican

House District 29: David Adkins, Republican

House District 30: John Jones, Republican

House District 31: William Rehm, Republican

House District 44: Jane Powdrell-Culbert, Republican

House District 57: Jason Harper, Republican

House District 60: Tim Lewis, Republican

House District 68: Monica Youngblood, Republican

Public Regulation Commission

District 2: Kevin J. Sanders, Democrat

District 5: Stephen H. Fischmann, Democrat

State Supreme Court

Gary Clingman, Republican

Court of Appeals

Position 1: Stephen French, Republican

Position 2: Jacqueline Medina, Democrat

Position 3: Briana Zamora, Democrat

Position 4: Daniel Jose Gallegos, Republican

Bernalillo County Commission

District 5: James Smith, Republican

Bernalillo County Sheriff: Lou Golson, Republican

Judicial Retention

Court of Appeals

J. Miles Hanisee, Republican – Yes

Metropolitan Court

Division 1: Victor E. Valdez – Yes

Division 2 : Christine Eve Rodriguez – Yes

Division 3: Renee Torres – Yes

Division 4: Courtney Bryn Weaks – Yes

Division 5: Frank A. Sedillo – Yes

Division 6: Maria I. Dominguez – Yes

Division 7: Rosemary Cosgrove-Aguilar – Yes

Division 8: Jill M. Martinez – Yes

Division 9: Yvette K. Gonzales – Yes

Division 10: Edward L. Benavidez – Yes

Division 11: Sandra Engel – Yes

Division 12: Daniel E. Ramczyk – Yes

Division 13: Michelle Castillo Dowler – Yes

Division 14: Vidalia G. Chavez – Yes

Division 15: Kenny C. Montoya – Yes

Division 17: Henry A. Alaniz – Yes

Division 18: Rosie Lazcano Allred – Yes

Division 19: Linda S. Rogers – Yes

Constitutional Amendment No. 1: Appellate jurisdiction – For

Constitutional Amendment No. 2: Ethics commission – For

State Bonds

(will not increase taxes)

Bond Question A: senior centers – For

Bond Question B: libraries – For

Bond Question C: school buses – For

Bond Question D: higher education facilities – For

Bernalillo County Bonds

(will not increase taxes)

Library Bonds – For

Public Safety Facilities and Other County Buildings Bonds – For

Parks and Recreation Bonds – For

Transportation Bonds – For

Storm Drainage and Utilities Bonds – For

Public Housing Bonds – For

AMAFCA GO Flood Control Bonds – For

This editorial first appeared in the Albuquerque Journal. It was written by members of the editorial board and is unsigned as it represents the opinion of the newspaper rather than the writers.



Suggested on ABQjournal