Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

NM Merit Scholarship semifinalists announced

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The National Merit Scholarship Corporation just announced the names of approximately 16,000 semifinalists in the 65th annual National Merit Scholarship Program, including 92 students from New Mexico.

These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to compete for some 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $31 million that will be offered next spring, officials said in a news release.

The nationwide pool of these high school scholars represents less than 1% of U.S. high school seniors and includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

Over 90% of the semifinalists are expected to attain finalist standing, and about half will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar title, an official said.

Criteria include SAT or ACT scores, a detailed application, an essay, school or teacher endorsement, academic records, participation in community and school activities, demonstration of leadership, employment and honors awards received.

New Mexico high school senior National Merit Semifinalists, by city and school, are:

Alamogordo: Alamogordo HS: Merrell, Maxwell A.

Imago Dei Academy: Newsom, Daniel M.

Albuquerque: Albuquerque Academy: Auster, Zachary J.; Bradley, Robert T.; Dominguez, Carlos A.; Giunta, Katherine S.; Hess, Benjamin T.; Ji, Sonny; Kosick, Ryan D.; Paul, Adittyo; Paul, Emily H.; Perez, AnaMaria; Smith, Jesse A.; Upham, Michelle L.; and Viets, Christian D.

Albuquerque HS: Cannon, Mason L.; Vanis, Avalon L.; and Yang, Rishi T.

Albuquerque Institute for Mathematics and Science: Bermudez, Brian K.; Bilotta, Danielle E.; Dunne, Aidan; Foresi, Emma P. and Leigh, Zachary.

College and Career High School: Reitz, Isabella R.

Early College Academy: Christensen-Brown, Elisabeth T.; Ha, Daniel V.; Mellin, Anna F.; Perce, Abigail A.; Vigneau, Tobias M.

Eldorado High School: Leppala, Barbara J.; Sandoval, Karenna N.; Urenda, Lauren A.; Wickstrom, Jack E.

Home schooled: May, Noah P.; Pugh, Joseph; Rose, Josiah M.

La Cueva HS: Abudushalamu, Adina; Allred, Etienne G.; Feng, David J.; Ho, Emily B.; Ingram, Kaya K.; Jiang, Grace; Limary, Cody; McBee, Trenton H.; Terrones, Wesley; Watson, Blake T.; Zhang, Roland Z.

St. Pius HS: Johnston, Tyler M.; Pareja, Monica T.; Stotzer, David C.

Grants: Grants HS: Rychener, Natalie D.

Las Cruces: Arrowhead Park Early College HS: Badawy, Mohammad A. and Ruff, Rebekah D.

Las Cruces HS: Fernald, Julia P., and Iqbal, Reema.

Mayfield HS: Sanchez-Maes, Mireya C.

Los Alamos: Los Alamos HS: Armstrong, Dara A.; Ben-Naim, Talia; Dougherty, Sean M.; Henderson, Eleanor M.; Holmes, Emily E.; Huang, Cinlong; Iramk-Bent, Eli S.; Joyce, Malea B.; Lopez, Dimitri S.; Nadiga, Gopal; Osburn, Trystan; Romero, Juan D.; Sadasivan, Neha and Waters, Cameron.

Los Lunas: Los Lunas HS: Good, Forest T., and Marry, Matthew W.

Moriarty: Estanica Valley Classical Academy: Leavitt, Wesley B.

Penasco: Penasco HS: MacAuley, Ariana G.

Rio Rancho: V. Sue Cleveland HS: Lujan-Flores, Xavier E.

Rio Rancho: Helms, Kenji S.

The Ask Academy: Hickman, Ryan W., and McMillan, Zoe K.

Sandia Park: East Mountain HS: MacKellar, Kalob A. and Pereira, Christian E.

Santa Fe: Academy for Technology and the Classics: BenSlama-McKinley, Eamon C.; McCombs, John R.; Pope, Etta C.

Home schooled: Wilcox, Abigail K.

Mandela International Magnet School: Ehlers, Malcolm I.

The Masters Program: Moon, Dante L.

Santa Fe HS: Nadon, Rowan J.

Santa Fe Preparatory: Albright, Apollo J.; LoRusso, Ryan A.; Murray, Susannah F.

Santa Teresa: Santa Teresa HS: Erramouspe, Trevor J.

Socorro: Socorro HS: Jacobs, Bryce O.


More on ABQjournal