Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Albuquerque High has 6 new Hall of Honor members

Madison Bridges,shown in 2012, won four straightswimming titles for Albuquerque High, is one of six who will be inducted into the AHS Hall of Honor on Oct. 5. (Journal File

The Albuquerque High School Lettermen’s Club will induct six former Bulldogs into the AHS athletics Hall of Honor at its annual “Breakfast of Champions” at the school on Oct. 5.

The 2019 inductees are:

⋄ Madison Bridges, who qualified for the 2012 Olympic swimming trials in the 100- and 200-meter backstroke. She won four straight titles for AHS in the 200 individual medley and holds the state record in that event. She swam collegiately at Missouri.

⋄ Kurt Stromberg and Steve Sanchez, who won state tennis doubles titles for the Bulldogs in 1956-57.

⋄ Beth Wright, who won Class 5A state titles in the 800 meters (2011) and 1,600 meters (2010). Wright attended Syracuse on an athletic scholarship.

⋄ Steve Jaramillo, who quarterbacked the Bulldogs to a big-school state runner-up finish in 1967. An all-city and all-state selection, He was voted to the all-time AHS football team in 1974.

⋄ Marc Herrera, a four-sport letterman (football, basketball, baseball, track & field) who was an all-state selection in football and a 1992 Class 4A state champion in the 110-yard high hurdles and the 330-yard intermediate hurdles.

Also, retired AHS teacher and coach John Lopez will be honored with the Lettermen’s Club’s Outstanding Achievement Awaard. Lopez’s career at the school spanned 40 years.

Tickets for the event are $25. For more information, call George Friberg at 505-220-9297 or Bobby Santiago at 505-948-8677.

NMSHOF: Public voting for New Mexico Sports Hall of Fame nominees is ongoing and continues through Sept. 30.

As of Tuesday, Albuquerque martial arts grandmaster Melcor Chavez was the leading vote-getter. He was followed, in order, by former Roswell Goddard football coach Sam Jernigan, former Santa Fe High School wrestling coach Mike Lujan, boxing and MMA champion Holly Holm, and martial-arts instructor and coach Mike Winkeljohn.

The leading vote-getter is not guaranteed induction but is guaranteed a spot in the Hall of Fame board’s final pool of candidates.

A nominee must receive 75 percent of board members’ votes to qualify for induction.

For more information, go to or to the New Mexico Sports Hall of Fame’s Facebook page.

Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a story about how coronavirus has affected you, your family or your business? Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? What issues related to the topic would you like to see covered? Or do you have a bright spot you want to share in these troubling times?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.

More on ABQjournal