Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Tarleton State to join Western Athletic Conference

STEPHENVILLE, Texas — Tarleton State University is leaving the NCAA Division II Lone Star Conference to join the Division I Western Athletic Conference in 2020-21, the school announced Tuesday.

New Mexico State is among the WAC schools. Other league members as of 2020-21 will be California Baptist, Chicago State, Dixie State, Grand Canyon, Seattle University, The University of Texas Rio Grande Valley and Utah Valley.

Tarleton State will begin a four-year reclassification period and can become eligible for Division I postseason play in 2024-25.

During the reclassification period, 13 of Tarleton’s 14 sports will compete in the WAC, while the football program will compete as a Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) independent. Tarleton will add women’s soccer during the transition to give the Texans 15 sports.

(Click here for the press released from the WAC.)

Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a story about how coronavirus has affected you, your family or your business? Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? What issues related to the topic would you like to see covered? Or do you have a bright spot you want to share in these troubling times?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.