Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

All-Mountain West media poll: San Diego State takes top honors

San Diego Aztec Malachi Flynn, center, is defended by UNM Lobos Vante Hendrix, left, and Makuach Maluach, right, during their game in Dreamstyle Arena – the Pit on Jan. 29. Flynn on Monday (March 2, 2020) was announced as the media selection for Mountain West Player of the Year. (Adolphe Pierre-Louis/Albuquerque Journal)

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The historic San Diego State Aztecs season continues. After posting a 28-1 regular season record, going 17-1 in Mountain West play and winning the regular season championship by an unprecedented five games, the league’s media has voted junior guard Malachi Flynn the conference’s Player of the Year and Newcomer of the Year and unanimously voted Brian Dutcher as Coach of the Year.

The Aztecs had four players receive votes as All-Mountain West performers, with Flynn being selected to the First Team, junior guard Matt Mitchell voted to the Second Team, senior forward Yanni Wetzell voted to Third Team and guard K.J. Feagin being named honorable mention.

Flynn, a 6-foot-1 transfer from Washington State, averaged 17.6 points, 4.4 rebounds and 5.1 assists this season and received nine of a possible 11 votes for Player of the Year and for Newcomer of the Year with Nevada junior guard Jalen Harris, a transfer from Louisiana Tech, receiving the other two votes for both awards. Flynn also received votes as the league’s top defender.

Flynn and Harris were joined on the All-Mountain West First Team by Utah State’s Sam Merrill, last year’s media Player of the Year, UNLV sophomore guard Bryce Hamilton and Boise State guard Justinian Jessup, who this season became the league’s all-time 3-point field goal leader.

Dutcher, in his third year as head coach and 21st overall with the Aztecs, received all 11 media votes.

Utah State sophomore center Neemias Queta was voted for a second consecutive season by the media as the league’s Defensive Player of the Year, netting six votes. Flynn and Feagin each received two votes and Utah State forward Justin Bean received one vote.

Colorado State guard Isaiah Stevens is the Freshman of the Year with nine votes with teammate David Roddy and Fresno State’s Orlando Robinson receiving one vote each.

Nevada senior guard Nisré Zouzoua won Sixth Man of the Year with eight votes. UNLV’s Elijah Mitrou-Long, Boise State’s Alex Hobbs and Utah State’s Diogo Brito each received one vote for the award.

Voting was conducted independent of Mountain West oversight by media directly covering teams in all 11 league markets. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, beat reporters from competing publications or outlets submitted a joint ballot, giving each market one vote.

Voters ranked players 1 through 15 for first-, second- and third-team All-Mountain West with the top player getting 15 points and on down to the 15th player receiving one point.
Vote totals are included for all awards and all all-conference selections.

2019-20 All-Mountain West (Media)

Total points listed for all selections with each of 11 league markets getting one vote.

• Malachi Flynn, San Diego State (163 points)
• Jalen Harris, Nevada (156)
• Sam Merrill, Utah State (141)
• Bryce Hamilton, UNLV (129)
• Justinian Jessup, Boise State (99)

• Nico Carvacho, Colorado State (94)
• Matt Mitchell, San Diego State (87)
• Derrick Alston Jr., Boise State (79)
• Neemias Queta, Utah State (77)
• Justin Bean, Utah State (63)

• Jazz Johnson, Nevada (47)
• Yanni Wetzel, San Diego State (41)
• Lavelle Scottie, Air Force (32)
• Seneca Knight, San Jose State (25)
• (tie) Nate Grimes, Fresno State (19)
• (tie) Hunter Maldonado, Wyoming (19)

Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State (14); JaQuan Lyle, New Mexico (12); K.J. Feagin, San Diego State (6); David Roddy, Colorado State (6); Amauri Hardy, UNLV (5); Lindsey Drew, Nevada (4); Orlando Robinson, Fresno State (2).

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Malachi Flynn, San Diego State (9)
Others receiving votes: Jalen Harris, Nevada (2)

COACH OF THE YEAR: Brian Dutcher, San Diego State (11)

DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Neemias Queta, Utah State (6)
Others receiving votes: K.J. Feagin, San Diego State (2); Malachi Flynn, San Diego State (2); Justin Bean, Utah State (1)

NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Malachi Flynn, San Diego State (9)
Others receiving votes: Jalen Harris, Nevada (2)

FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State (9)
Others receiving votes: Orlando Robinson, Fresno State (1); David Roddy, Colorado State (1)

6TH MAN OF THE YEAR: Nisré Zouzoua, Nevada (8)
Others receiving votes: Diogo Brito, Utah State (1); Alex Hobbs, Boise State (1); Elijah Mitrou-Long, UNLV (1).

Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a story about how coronavirus has affected you, your family or your business? Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? What issues related to the topic would you like to see covered? Or do you have a bright spot you want to share in these troubling times?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.