Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Geoff Grammer’s postseason 2020 Mountain West media poll ballot

First, some context.

I was wrong about a lot of things in the Mountain West this season.

OK. That about covers that. Now on to the ballot I turned in for the annual end-of-season All-Mountain West poll as conducted by league media. The coaches poll will be released on Tuesday and the media poll was released on Monday morning.

All-Mountain West first team

Malachi Flynn, San Diego State
Jalen Harris, Nevada
Sam Merrill, Utah State
Bryce Hamilton, UNLV
Neemias Queta, Utah State

All-Mountain West second team

Justinian Jessup, Boise State
Matt Mitchell, San Diego State
Yanni Wetzell, San Diego State
Derrick Alston, Boise State
Nico Carvacho, Colorado State

All-Mountain West third team

Justin Bean, Utah State
Seneca Knight, San Jose State
Jazz Johnson, Nevada
Hunter Maldonado, Wyoming
JaQuan Lyle, New Mexico

NOTE: This isn’t part of the official ballot, but my next five out, or if we had a fourth team, it probably would have looked like this: K.J. Feagin, San Diego State; Nate Grimes, Fresno State; Orlando Robinson, Fresno State; Lavelle Scottie, Air Force; Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State

All-Mountain West Awards

Player of the Year: Malachi Flynn, San Diego State
Defensive Player of the Year: Malachi Flynn, San Diego State
Newcomer of the Year: Malachi Flynn, San Diego State
Freshman of the Year: Isaiah Stevens, Colorado State
6th Man of the Year: Nizre Zouzoua, Nevada
Coach of the Year: Brian Dutcher, San Diego State

Subscribe now! Albuquerque Journal limited-time offer
Support your local Albuquerque Journal & Geoff Grammer SUBSCRIBE NOW cancel anytime

Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? Do you have a bright spot you want to share?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.