Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

North Sports: Week in Review

Several of the districts have released all-district teams and local players made quite an impact.

Boys 2-4A: First team, Abdul Khweis and Edgar Varela, Taos; Jordan Duda and Garret May, Española Valley; Harrison Frank and Wesley Stanfield, Los Alamos; Dante Ortiz, Pojoaque Valley. Second team, Jon Garcia, Española Valley; Gavin Campos, Los Alamos; Sean Aragon, Noah Dela Cruz and Nathan Valdez, Pojoaque Valley; Anthony Padilla and Angel Limas, Taos. Player of the Year: Abdul Khweis, Taos. Coach of the Year: Gabe Martinez, Española Valley.

Girls 2-4A: First team, Michaela Martinez and Ashten Martinez, Pojoaque Valley; Jasmine Baca and Miranda Salazar, Española Valley; Arianna Aguilar, Taos; Hannah Sanchez and Becca Green, Los Alamos. Second team, Natalie Gallegos and Michaela Gonzales, Los Alamos; Madelynn Quinta and Dahnyell Martinez, Taos; Destiny Valdez, Española Valley; Anissa Herrera, Pojoaque Valley. Player of the Year: Michaela Martinez, Pojoaque Valley. Coach of the Year: Joe Estrada, Española Valley.

Boys 2-3A: Nicholas Marrujo, Julius Vaughn, Jesus Santiago Gonzales and Antonio Padilla (Robertson); Devin Flores, Lucas Coriz and Derek Martinez, St. Michael’s; John Balizan and DJ Byron, West Las Vegas; Shaun Riley and David Arquero, Santa Fe Indian School; Finn Coles. Santa Fe Prep Player of the Year: Matthew Gonzales, Robertson; Coach of the Year: David Rodriguez, St. Michael’s.

Girls 2-3A: Skylin Morgan, Cameron Sandoval, Kaitlin Gonzales and Jennifer Sanchez, West Las Vegas; Gabriela Trujillo, Jayden Jenkins and Trinity Sena, Robertson; Jordan Torres and Hunter Garcia, Santa Fe Indian School; Carisa Padilla and St. Michael’s Lauryn Pecos. Most Valuable Players: Tessa Ortiz, Robertson and Briana Marquez, West Las Vegas. Coach of the Year: Miranda Martinez.

Boys 7-2 A: Xavier Padilla, Ismael Villegas, Anthony Armijo, Juan Varela and Devin Gonzales, Pecos.

Boys 7-2A: Trinity Herrera, Alexis Gonzales, Desiree Sena and Mistydawn Roybal, Pecos.

Cycling: The second annual 6 Hours in the Basin for Commonweal, originally scheduled for April 5, has been cancelled because of the coronavirus pandemic.