Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Jennings named to State Investment Council

Legislative leaders meeting at the Capitol today named former Senate President Pro Tem Tim Jennings of Roswell to a vacant seat on the State Investment Council.

Jennings, a Democrat, was defeated for re-election in 2012 by Republican Cliff Pirtle. Republican Gov. Susana Martinez waded into the election-year battle in support of Pirtle.

Jennings will serve on the State Investment Council with Martinez, who is the panel’s chair. Jennings’ appointment was made by the Legislative Council, which is made up of the Legislature’s top leaders.

The Legislative Council today also named members of legislative interim committees for 2013.

The so-called interim committees typically hold their meetings in different parts of the state and review draft legislation that can be voted on during the following year’s session.

This year’s meeting for most of the interim committees are expected to start up next month.

Here are some of the interim committees and the legislators who will lead them:

Legislative Finance Committee — Rep. Luciano “Lucky” Varela, D-Santa Fe (chairman); Sen. John Arthur Smith, D-Deming (vice chairman).

Legislative Education Study Committee — Sen. John Sapien, D-Corrales (chairman); Rep. Rick Miera, D-Albuquerque (vice chairman).

Investments and Pensions Oversight Committee — Rep. Jim Trujillo, D-Santa Fe (chairman); Sen. George Munoz, D-Gallup (vice chairman).

Courts, Corrections and Justice Committee — Rep. Gail Chasey, D-Albuquerque (co-chairwoman); Sen. Richard Martinez, D-Espanola (co-chairman).

Legislative Health and Human Services Committee — Rep. James Roger Madalena, D-Jemez Springs (chairman); Sen. Gerald Ortiz y Pino, D-Albuquerque (vice chairman).

New Mexico Finance Authority Oversight Committee — Rep. Patricia Lundstrom, D-Gallup (chairwoman); Sen. Joseph Cervantes, D-Las Cruces (vice chairman).

Interim Legislative Ethics Committee — Rep. Nick Salazar, D-Ohkay Owingeh (co-chairman); Sen. Linda Lopez, D-Albuquerque (co-chairwoman).