Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Nine NM students earn National Merit Scholarships

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The National Merit Scholarship Corp. this week announced its final group of scholarships winners – these financed by colleges and universities – that included nine students in New Mexico.

The designees join more than 3,100 college-sponsored award recipients announced in June, officials said in a news release.

College-sponsored awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study.

New Mexico scholarship winners, their high schools and awarding institutions are:

• Alexandria E. Dolan, Albuquerque Academy, Colorado State University

• Carter A. Elias, Albuquerque Academy, Villanova

• Sean R. Love, La Cueva, Texas Tech University

• Tiffany Y. Pei, La Cueva, Texas A&M

• Richard W. Ross, Early College Academy, University of New Mexico

• Harley V. Sigmon, La Cueva, Brigham Young University

• Alexander D. R. Yanov, Sandia, Oklahoma State University

• Jaden T. Hicks, Carlsbad, Texas Tech

• Maximilian E. Corliss, Los Alamos, University of New Mexico

Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a story about how coronavirus has affected you, your family or your business? Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? What issues related to the topic would you like to see covered? Or do you have a bright spot you want to share in these troubling times?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.