Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

11 appointed to police oversight task force

WINTER: Joint sponsor of task force effort

WINTER: Joint sponsor of task force effort

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Two former police officers, the American Civil Liberties Union and others will be represented on an 11-member task force created to review Albuquerque’s system of police oversight.

The City Council this week adopted a resolution appointing the members, based on recommendations from council staffers who evaluated applications from 115 people. The task force is expected to hold a series of town-hall meetings and make recommendations to the council on how to overhaul the Police Oversight Commission.

The effort is jointly sponsored by Councilors Rey Garduño, a Democrat, and Brad Winter, a Republican.

Garduño said he and Winter don’t always agree, but they both wanted an even-handed group to look at the city’s system for civilian oversight of the Albuquerque Police Department.

GARDUNO: "We wanted it to be fair"

GARDUNO: “We wanted it to be fair”

“We wanted it to be fair,” Garduño said.

Winter described the task force’s membership as “very balanced.”

Notably absent from the group is Andres Valdez, the executive director of Vecinos United, who urged councilors to make him a member.

“I’ve been at this a long time,” he said. “I’m highly qualified.”

Councilors didn’t add him to the group, though they still have some appointments to make, for alternates to fill any unplanned vacancies.

Here’s a look at who was appointed:

  • Hans Erickson, assistant public defender in New Mexico; formerly an investigator for the Civilian Complaint Review Board in New York City.
  • Ralph Arellanes, state director for the New Mexico League of United Latin American Citizens, or LULAC.
  • Nancy Koenigsberg, legal director of Disability Rights New Mexico, an advocacy group.
  • Peter Simonson, executive director of the American Civil Liberties Union of New Mexico.
  • Edmund Perea, retired APD officer who worked in Internal Affairs and as a trainer at the police academy. He is now an attorney.
  • Frances Armijo, retired from Sandia National Laboratories, where she had experience conducting inquiries about security concerns. She’s also a former state House member.
  • Andrew Lipman, vice president of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Center Board.
  • Craig Loy, retired APD captain and former city councilor.
  • Alan Wagman, an assistant public defender and former Children’s Court attorney for the state Children, Youth and Families Department.
  • Julia Kennedy, state behavioral health director for CYFD’s Juvenile Justice Services. She has a doctorate in clinical psychology and is a former 911 supervisor.
  • Fabrizio Bertoletti, former deputy chief administrative officer at City Hall.



Suggested on ABQjournal