Recover password

Topes Today

Monday Vs. Omaha, 1:35 p.m.

Radio: KNML-AM (610)

Probable starters: Isotopes LHP Derrick Loop (11-4, 4.97) vs. Storm Chasers RHP Nate Adcock (8-6, 5.46)

Promotions: ’Topes bobble-logo giveaway, pre-game catch, adult fun run.

Sunday: The Isotopes secured a division title in dramatic fashion, coming from behind for a 6-5 win over Omaha in front of 14,194 fans at Isotopes Park. The ’Topes will advance to the PCL playoffs beginning Wednesday in Omaha.

The Isotopes led 4-0 after five innings, scoring single runs in each of the first four. Omaha answered with five runs in the sixth, getting a solo home run from Max Ramirez and a two-run, go-ahead shot from Adam Moore.

Albuquerque tied it on a Trent Oeltjen RBI double in the seventh, then grabbed the lead when Josh Fields’ sacrifice fly scored Dee Gordon in the eighth.

Reliever Josh Wall allowed a leadoff double to Irving Falu in the ninth, but retired the next three hitters to earn his 28th save. Erick Threets (6-4) got the win with 2(1/3) innings of scoreless relief.

The Isotopes announced their annual team awards prior to Sunday’s game. Winners were as follows:

Mr. Hustle — pitcher Cole St. Clair;

PNM Power Hitter of the Year — infielder/outfielder Jerry Sands;

Defensive Player of the Year — catcher Tim Federowicz;

Pitcher of the Year — John Ely;

MVP — Sands; Most Community Minded — St. Clair;

Fan Favorite — outfielder Brian Cavazos-Galvez.


Suggested on ABQjournal