Recover password

Six of nine City Council seats are up for grabs

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Albuquerque voters will have a chance to reshape the City Council during Tuesday’s election.

Six of the nine council seats are up this year, and voters’ choices will determine whether Republicans retain a 6-3 majority on the council or whether the party balance shifts.

A candidate must receive 50 percent of the vote, or the top two face a runoff election in November.

Here’s a look at the races:

  • In District 1 on the West Side, incumbent Councilor Ken Sanchez, a Democrat, is unopposed.
  • District 2, the older core of the city, features two incumbents because of redistricting, Democrat Isaac Benton and Republican Roxanna Meyers.
  • In District 3, an open seat on the southern West Side, the candidates are Democrats Ron O. Garcia and Klarissa Peña, in addition to Tania Silva, a Republican.
  • District 5, the northern West Side, features incumbent Dan Lewis, a Republican, and Eloise Gift, a Democrat.
  • In District 7 in the Uptown area, incumbent Janice Arnold-Jones, a Republican, faces a challenge from Democrats Matt Biggs and Diane Gibson.
  • In District 9, the Four Hills area and southeast Albuquerque, incumbent Republican Don Harris will compete against Lovie McGee, a Democrat.


Continue reading