Recover password

Recognizing those who help others

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The honorees and categories in which they are being honored in the 25th annual philanthropy day event are:

  • Mountain States Insurance Group – Outstanding Corporation in Philanthropy for its support of United Way of Central New Mexico, and for sponsoring the Special Olympics and giving money to other groups.
  • Linda Childears, president and CEO of the Daniels Fund – Outstanding Foundation in Philanthropy for operating the Daniels Fund grants program and the Daniels Fund scholarship program.
  • Gayle Dean, executive director of San Juan College Foundation – Outstanding New Mexico Fundraiser for increasing the endowment of the foundation.
  • David Rubin, Mountain Mahogany Community School founder – Outstanding New Mexico Leader in Philanthropy for financial support and volunteer hours put into founding the K-8 charter school that emphasizes the emotional, intellectual and social capacities of children.
  • Bruce Seligman, senior vice president of Morgan Stanley – Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser for raising funds for organizations including Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central New Mexico, Special Olympics of New Mexico and the New Mexico chapter of the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.
  • Nancy Croker and Joseph Gorvetzian – Outstanding Family in Philanthropy for funding a summer program that allows students to experience being board members with nonprofit organizations.
  • LaCueva High School students – Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy Collaboration for raising funds for a teacher with breast cancer and donating their shorn hair to Locks of Love, an organization that makes wigs for people who have cancer.
  • Founder of Paws and Stripes Lindsey Stanek – Outstanding Young Nonprofit Professional for creating a nonprofit organization that matches and trains shelter dogs to work with veterans in need of service dogs.
  • Andrew Wilson, Albuquerque Academy High School student – Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy High School Student for raising money for the March of Dimes.
  • Cathy Cavanaugh – Outstanding Young Board Member for her involvement with the Albuquerque Community Foundation Future Fund.


Continue reading