Recover password

Group honors 6 New Mexicans

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Six New Mexicans received awards from the Dialogue Institute of the Southwest at the organization’s annual Dialogue and Friendship Dinner and Awards Ceremony on Thursday evening at Embassy Suites Albuquerque.

The awards and winners are: Leadership Award – James B. Lewis, New Mexico state treasurer; Education Award – Robert G. Frank, president of the University of New Mexico; Media Award – Kent Walz, editor in chief of the Albuquerque Journal; Public Service Award – Michael Geier, Albuquerque Police Department, Southeast Area; Community Service Award – Frank Yates, pastor at St. Andrew Presbyterian Church; and the Dialogue and Friendship Award – Ahmet Tiryaki, owner of DAMA Construction.

The Dialogue Institute of the Southwest – formerly known as the Institute of Interfaith Dialogue – is a nonprofit that promotes mutual understanding, respect and cooperation among people of diverse faiths and cultures, according to its website.