Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Bernalillo, Corrales and Rio Rancho will hold elections on Tuesday

RIO RANCHO, N.M. — Voters will be going to the polls in Bernalillo, Corrales and Rio Rancho on Tuesday to make decisions on who will occupy the governing body seats in their communities for the next four years.

The elections involve the mayor’s position in all three communities, three council seats each in Rio Rancho and Corrales and two in Bernalillo. Rio Rancho residents will also be voting for a municipal judge.

Bernalillo Mayor Jack Torres is unopposed in his bid for reelection, while his counterparts in Corrales and Rio Rancho, Phil Gasteyer and Tom Swisstack, have decided to step down.

Rio Rancho’s mayoral contest is a four-way race between former mayors Jim Owen and Mike Williams and political newcomers R. Morgan Braden and Gregg Hull.

Longtime Rio Rancho council District 2 incumbent Patty Thomas is stepping down. Sandra Atwood, Darlene Collins and Dawnn Robinson are vying for her position.

In District 3, incumbent Tamara Gutierrez is hoping to fend off a challenge from Cheryl Everett, while in District 5, incumbent Tim Crum is facing opposition from Tom Buckner, Paul Howell and Shelby Smith.

The municipal judge’s race pits incumbent G. Robert Cook against Jeffrey Goen and Ramon Montaño.

Rio Rancho city rules require runoff elections in contests involving three or more candidates if no one receives at least 50 percent of the votes cast.

In Corrales, administrator Chris Allen and local businessman Scott Kominiak are vying to replace Gasteyer as village mayor.

In Bernalillo, incumbent Dale Prairie is hoping to hold on to his town council seat, while Councilor Santiago Montoya is stepping down. Ernestina Dominguez and John Estrada are the challengers.

In Corrales, Gasteyer is running unopposed for the Corrales District 3 village council seat. John Alsobrook is running for reelection to District 4 against David Dornburg. District 5 incumbent Ennio Garcia-Miera is facing a challenge from Tom Brown.

Voting on Election Day March 4

Bernalillo: Voters in Precincts 1, 3 and portions of Precincts 2, 4, 50 and 74 are consolidated and can cast ballots at voting convenience centers at: Town Hall, 829 Camino del Pueblo, or Alegria Community Center, 901 Cottonwood Circle.

Corrales: All districts will be voting at the voting convenience center at Corrales Recreation Center, 500 Jones Road.

Rio Rancho: Voting convenience center locations are at Rio Rancho City Hall, 3200 Civic Center Circle NE; Meadowlark Senior Center, 4330 Meadowlark Lane; Mountain View Middle School, 4101 Montreal Loop NE; Soul Rio Community Church, 2003 Southern Blvd. SE, Suite 128-131. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

For more Rio Rancho information go to and click on “Election Information.”

Before selecting and heading out to utilize a particular voting convenience center, voters on Election Day can visit the website to view real-time data showing how many are in line to vote at each location.

For more information about the Rio Rancho mayoral candidates, including their backgrounds and answers to Journal questions, click here.

The Rio Rancho council candidates include:

District 2

Sandra Atwood.

Darlene Collins.

Dawnn Robinson.

Click here for the District 2 candidates’ bios and their answers to Journal questions.

District 3

Cheryl Everett.

Tamara Gutierrez.

Click here for the District 3 candidates’ bios and their answers to Journal questions.

District 5

Thomas Buckner.

Tim Crum.

Paul Howel.

Shelby Smith.

Click here for the District 5 candidates’ bios and their answers to Journal questions.


Corrales candidates

Click here for information on Corrales mayoral candidates, Chris Allen and Scott Kominiak.

Corrales council:

District 1: Click here for information on candidates Tom Brown and Ennio Garcia-Miera.

District 3: Phil Gasteyer is running unopposed

District 4: Candidate David Dornburg did not return a Journal Questionnaire. Click here for information on John Alsobrook.


Bernalillo candidates:

Mayoral candidate Jack Torres is running unopposed

Council incumbent Dale Prairie did not return a questionnaire. Click here for information on council candidates Ernestina Dominguez and John A. Estrada.