Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Students from Bernalillo, Santa Fe and Los Alamos win top LANL employees’ scholarships

SANTA FE, N.M. — Raymond Fasano of Bernalillo High School is the recipient of the 2014 Platinum Scholarship awarded through the Los Alamos Employees’ Scholarship Fund.

Fasano is one of 73 students from seven Northern New Mexico counties receiving LAESF scholarships, which are funded through pledges from Los Alamos National Laboratory employees, and a matching amount from Los Alamos National Security, LLC, the contractor that runs the lab.

“These scholarships are awarded to deserving students who excel in academic achievement, whose leadership potential is highlighted by his or her dedication to community service and extracurricular activities, and whose career goals reflect the future needs of our Laboratory and communities,” Jeff Mousseau, the Laboratory’s Environmental Programs director and leader of the Laboratory’s 2014 LAESF campaign, said in a news release.

Fasano is the first Bernalillo High School student to receive the Platinum scholarship, which provides $7,500 a year for four years. Los Alamos High School senior Alexander Wang and Santa Fe High School senior Greta Miller are this year’s Gold Scholarship recipients. They will receive $5,000 a year in financial assistance for four years.

Three students will receive $2,500 annual, four-year silver scholarships: Sarah Colvin of the New Mexico School for the Arts, Jesse Yelvington of Pojoaque High School and Na Hyun Park of St. Michael’s High School in Santa Fe.

Seven students will receive $2,500 annual four-year Domenici scholarships named after former U.S. Senator Pete Domenici (R-N.M.): Leonard Horan III of Escalante High School; Amanda Mercer, Los Alamos High; Eliana Griego of McCurdy Charter School; Angelica Aragon, Mora High School; Nicolette Gonzales, Pecos High School; Zoie Hensley, Taos High School; and Milo Ventura of Cleveland High School in Rio Rancho.

The full list of 2014 scholarship recipients is on the LANL Foundation website at