Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

How the GOP won control of the NM House

For the first time since 1954, Republicans will have a majority in the New Mexico House of Representatives.

Democrats had entered Tuesday’s election night with a 37-33 advantage over Republicans, but that number has been flipped on its head. Based on unofficial election results, House Republicans gained a net of four seats in the 70-member chamber.

In all, five seats changed in the political column — with Republicans winning five Democrat-held seats and just one Democrat claiming victory in a GOP-controlled seat.

Here’s a look at the six races that changed in the political affiliation column:

* House District 15 — Republican challenger Sarah Maestas Barnes of Albuquerque ousted Democratic Rep. Emily Kane in a hard-fought race. Maestas Barnes –52.1%, Kane — 47.9%

* House District 24 — Republican Conrad James reclaimed his old House seat by defeating Rep. Liz Thomson, D-Albuquerque, in a rematch of a 2012 race. James — 52.1%, Thomson, 47.9%

* House District 39 — Incumbent Democratic Rep. Rodolpho “Rudy” Martinez of Bayard was upset by Republican John Zimmerman of Las Cruces. This one was a surprise, but Republican groups had poured money into it late. Zimmerman — 52.6%, Martinez — 47.4%

* House District 36 — Former Rep. Andy Nunez of Hatch, running as a Republican after previously serving in the Legislature as a Democrat and independent, knocked off first-term Rep. Phillip Archuleta, D-Las Cruces. Nunez — 54.1%, Archuleta — 45.9 %

* House District 53 — Another former legislator, Ricky Little of Chapparal, will head back to the House after defeating Democrat Mariaelena Johnson. The race was for an open seat, since Rep. Nate Cote, D-Organ, was not running for re-election. Little — 62%, Johnson — 38%

* House District 50 — The lone Democrat to post a win in a GOP-held district was Matthew McQueen, who lives outside Santa Fe. He defeated Rep. Vickie Perea, R-Belen, who had been appointed to the seat last year by Gov. Susana Martinez. McQueen — 54%, Perea — 46%

None of the legislative races appeared close enough to trigger an automatic, state-paid recount. The threshold for such recounts is half of 1 percent.

To check unofficial state election results, click HERE.

And check back later for more details on Tuesday’s election.