Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Voting today for APS, CNM boards

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — Albuquerque Public Schools is holding an election for three of its seven school board seats today in Districts 1, 2 and 4.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

In District 1, which covers the South Valley, incumbent APS school board President Analee Maestas, a director of a local charter school, faces two challengers – Madelyn Jones, a retail business owner, and Colt Balok, a University of New Mexico student.

The District 2 race, which covers northwest Albuquerque and Corrales, includes two candidates. Incumbent Kathy Korte, a mother of APS students, faces challenger Peggy Muller-Aragon, a retired teacher.

And in District 4, which covers the university area, there are five candidates vying for the open seat.

Candidates include Mark Gilboard, a marketing manager and father of APS children; Charles “Ched” MacQuigg, a retired teacher; Barbara Petersen, a retired teacher; John “Jake” Lopez, a retired teacher; and Sina-Aurelia Pleasant Soul-Bowe, a socio-ethnomusicologist and mother of APS students.

District 4 incumbent Marty Esquivel is not seeking re-election.

The Albuquerque Federation of Teachers has endorsed candidates in all three races: Maestas in District 1, Korte in District 2 and Petersen in District 4.

The Greater Albuquerque Chamber of Commerce also has endorsed candidates in each of the races: Maestas in District 1, Muller-Aragon in District 2 and Gilboard in District 4.

Meanwhile, voters also will elect three people to serve on the Central New Mexico Community College Governing Board, though only one of the races is contested.

Jenny Leigh Lawson-Toulose, the mother of four young boys, and Virginia Lopez Trujillo, a former board member, are competing for the North Valley District 6 seat. Penny Holbrook, the incumbent, is not seeking re-election.

Robert Matteucci Jr., who represents the District 2 Uptown area, and Mark Armijo, who represents the South Valley District 4 seat, are running unopposed.

Voting for the CNM election is taking place at the same voting centers from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.