Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Mountain West: Call on UNM in-bounds play was incorrect

 The Mountain West Conference said late Saturday that the decisive call was incorrect on the in-bounds play ruled a New Mexico turnover in its 78-71 loss at San Diego State.

Here is the text of the league’s statement:

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – With 12.9 seconds remaining in regulation in this evening’s New Mexico at San Diego State game, the official covering the in-bounds play ruled the New Mexico player had not established out-of-bounds status before receiving the ball.  The result was a turnover which gave the ball to San Diego State.

 While this was a very close judgment call made at full speed, it has been determined after careful review of slow-motion video replays the call was in fact incorrect.  The New Mexico player did get one foot down (two feet are not required) out-of-bounds before receiving the ball, thus establishing his location in accordance NCAA Basketball Playing Rules 4.23.1.a and 7.1.1.  By rule, the officials were not permitted to go to the monitor during the game to review this play.

 The Mountain West will have no further comment.

AlertMe

Advertisement

TOP |