Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Council seats, road bond on RR ballot

Municipal elections are set for Tuesday in Rio Rancho, Bernalillo, Corrales and Los Ranchos.

Here’s a brief overview:

Rio Rancho

Ten candidates are running for city council seats in districts 1, 4 and 6. Questions regarding a road bond and charter amendments will also be on the ballot.

According to the city clerk’s office, registered voters will be able to cast their ballot from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at any of the four polling locations:

  • Rio Rancho City Hall, 3200 Civic Center Circle.
  • Meadowlark Senior Center, 4330 Meadowlark Lane.
  • Mountain View Middle School, 4101 Montreal Loop.
  • Soul Rio Community Church, 2003 Southern Blvd. SE, Suite 128-131.

Candidates vying for four-year council seats on the Rio Rancho Governing Body are:

District 1: JoAnne C. Dudley, Joshua Hernandez and Jim Owen.

District 4: Marlene Feuer, Ron E. Hensley and Ryan Parra.

District 6: David L. Bency, Cris Balzano, Lonnie Clayton and Chris Vanden-Heuvel.

Rio Rancho City Clerk Stephen Ruger said only registered voters from those districts will be able to vote for the respective city council seats.

He said there are about 58,000 registered voters in Rio Rancho.

If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the total votes cast, the contenders with the highest and second-highest totals would be subject to a runoff. The runoff election would be held between 35 days to 45 days after the canvass is completed, according to city officials.

Road bond, charter amendments

All of Rio Rancho’s qualified resident and nonresident registered voters are eligible to vote on the city’s proposed $9 million general obligation bond for road work.

They will also vote on 11 proposed charter amendments addressing pay raises for elected officials, tie votes of the governing body and the code of ethics, among them.

For more information about Election Day voting and ballot issues in Rio Rancho, visit the city’s website at, or call the Rio Rancho Office of the City Clerk at 891-5004.


Bernalillo voters head to the polls to select two town councilors and a municipal judge.

Candidates for two at-large seats on the council include Mark Lopez, James Gill and Chris Raul Cordova, along with incumbents Marian Jaramillo and Ronnie Sisneros.

Municipal Judge Sharon Torres is seeking another term and will run against Alonzo Lucero and Geoffrey Rinaldi.

The sole voting location is Town Hall, located at 829 Camino del Pueblo.


Three village council candidates along with one candidate for municipal judge are all running unopposed in Corrales’ 2016 municipal election.

Michelle Frechette is running for municipal judge. District 5 Councilor James F. Fahey Jr. and District 6 Councilor Pat Clauser are both seeking reelection and George Wright is running to represent District 2.

Residents may vote at the Corrales Recreation Center.

Los Ranchos

Residents will elect a mayor and two trustees Tuesday in Los Ranchos.

Mayor Larry Abraham and Mayor Pro Tem and Trustee Donald Lopez are both running for mayor.

Incumbents Mary E. Homan and Allen L. Lewis, will run against Diane E. Albert to fill two trustee positions.

Ballots may be cast at Village Hall, located at 6718 Rio Grande NW, which is the only polling place for this election.

Polls in Bernalillo, Corrales and Los Ranchos will also be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Tuesday.