Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Major abortion laws by state

State

Prohibited at

Counseling

Ultrasound

Parental Notification

Regulation of Providers

Waiting Period

 

N.M.

 

no ban

no

no

no**

no

no

 

Ala.

 

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Alaska

no ban

yes

no

notice

no

no

 

Ark.

 

20 weeks*

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Ariz.

 

post-viability

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Calif.

 

post-viability

yes

no

no
(barred by court)

no

no

 

Colo.

 

no ban

no

no

notice

no

no

 

Conn.

 

post-viability

yes

no

no

yes

no

 

Del.

 

post-viability

no (barred by court)

no

notice
(in certain cases)

no

no (barred by court)

 

D.C.

 

no ban

no

no

no

no

no

 

Fla.

 

24 weeks

yes

yes

notice

yes

yes

 

Ga.

 

post-viability

yes

no

notice

no

yes

 

Hawaii

post-viability

no

no

no

no

no

 

Idaho

post-viability

yes

no

consent

no

yes

 

Ill.

 

post-viability

no

no

notice

limited

no

 

Ind.

 

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Iowa

third trimester

no

no

notice

no

no

 

Kan.

 

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

limited

yes

 

Ky.

 

post-viability

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

La.

 

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Maine

post-viability

yes

no

no

no

no

 

Md.

 

post-viability

no

no

notice

yes

no

 

Mass.

 

24 weeks

no (barred by court)

no

consent

no

no (permanently barred)

 

Mich.

 

post-viability

yes

no

no
(barred by court)

yes

yes

 

Minn.

 

24 weeks

yes

no

notice

no

yes

 

Miss.

 

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Mo.

 

post-viability

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Mont.

 

post-viability

no (barred by court)

no

notice

no

no (permanently barred)

 

Neb.

 

20 weeks

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Nev.

 

24 weeks

yes

no

no
(barred by court)

no

no

 

N.H.

 

no ban

no

no

notice

no

no

 

N.J.

 

no ban

no

no

no
(barred by court)

no

no

 

N.Y.

 

24 weeks

no

no

no

no

no

 

N.C.

 

20 weeks

yes

(pending ct. ruling)

consent

yes

yes

 

N.D.

 

post-viability

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Ohio

post-viability

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Okla.

 

post-viability

yes

yes

consent

temporary ban

yes

 

Ore.

 

no ban

no

no

no

no

no

 

Pa.

 

24 weeks

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

R.I.

 

24 weeks

yes

no

consent

yes

no

 

S.C.

 

third trimester

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

S.D.

 

24 weeks

yes

no

notice

yes

yes

 

Tenn.

 

post-viability

no (barred by court)

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Texas

20 weeks

yes

yes

consent

(law on appeal)

yes

 

Utah

post-viability

yes

no

consent

yes

yes

 

Vt.

 

no ban

no

no

no

no

no

 

Va.

 

third trimester

yes

yes

consent

yes

yes

 

Wash.

 

post-viability

no

no

no

no

no

 

W.Va.

 

20 weeks

yes

no

notice*

no

yes

 

Wis.

 

post-viability

yes

no

consent*

yes

yes

 

Wyo.

 

post-viability

no

no

consent

no

no

*can be waived by health provider

**pre-Roe vs. Wade provision ruled unenforcable by N.M. Attorney General

Sources: Washington Post, Guttmacher Institute

AlertMe
TOP |