Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

NM returns all three incumbents to Congress

Michelle Lujan Grisham

Michelle Lujan Grisham

Ben Ray Luján

Ben Ray Luján

Steve Pearce

Steve Pearce

New Mexico voters on Tuesday sent all three of their congressional representatives back to Washington.

Democrats Rep. Michelle Luján Grisham and Rep. Ben Ray Luján, as well as Republican Rep. Steve Pearce, won their seats in the House of Representatives, based on unofficial results.

In the 1st Congressional District that includes Albuquerque, Luján Grisham locked in a third term after defeating Republican candidate Richard Priem.

“I’m honored,” she said. “It feels really good to have my constituents and voters here say that I’m doing a good job and they’re sending me back (to Washington, D.C.).”

In the 2nd Congressional District, Pearce appeared to prevail over Democrat challenger Merrie Lee Soules. The Hobbs Republican represents southern New Mexico — the state’s largest congressional district and one of the largest in the nation, geographically. He returns to Washington for a seventh term.

As results tallied in his favor, Pearce said he felt “really humbled.”

“The biggest thing that is on people’s minds is jobs, the economic security of this state,” he said. “And they know I fight to prevent our jobs being outsourced to other countries. I’m conservative, but I work on the issues. I don’t go up and try to grind some philosophical ax.”

Rep. Ben Ray Luján, a Nambé resident and chairman of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, won a fifth term representing the 3rd Congressional District in northern New Mexico, defeating Republican challenger Michael Romero. Luján sits on House Energy and Commerce Committee.

Saying he felt “truly honored,” he added, “Day in and day out, I strivet make New Mexico a better place. I take this responsibility very seriously.”

For live election results, click here.