Recover password

All-Mountain West: CSU’s Clavell, Eustachy earn top honors; Lobos Brown, Williams recognized

Nevada got the hardware that counts on Saturday, beating the Colorado State Rams for the Mountain West’s regular season championship.

On Sunday, Colorado State had to settle for earning the Mountain West’s Player of the Year (Gian Clavell) and Coach of the Year (Larry Eustachy) awards as voted on by select media who cover the Mountain West. The Wolf Pack had a league-best four players named all-conference.

University of New Mexico junior guard Elijah Brown, voted in October as the preseason Player of the Year, was a second team selection while senior forward Tim Williams, who played just 11 of 18 league games due to injury, was an honorable mention.

Clavell, the senior guard from Caguas, Puerto Rico, earned 154 total point in the voting and four of a possible 11 first place votes. He averaged a league-best 21.2 points in conference games to go along with 6.9 rebounds and 1.8 steals per league game.

Eustachy earned eight of 11 first place votes for top coaching honors, nearly leading the Rams to its first MWC regular season title despite playing most of the conference season with just seven scholarship players. Nevada’s Eric Musselman and San Jose State’s Dave Wojcik each earned votes for coach of the year.

Joining Clavell on the All-Mountain West First Team were Nevada senior guard Marcus Marshall (147 points), CSU senior forward Emmanuel Omogbo (133), San Jose State sophomore forward Brandon Clarke (129) and Nevada sophomore forward Cameron Oliver (118).

Marshall, who transferred from Missouri State, earned Newcomer of the Year. Oliver added Defensive Player of the Year. Utah State’s Koby McEwan was the unanimous Freshman of the Year pick. Wyoming sophomore guard Justin James was named Sixth Man of the Year.

Every Mountain West market was represented in all-conference media voting. In markets where more than one outlet covers a team closely, reporters from competing publications put together a joint ballot.

Voters ranked their top 15 players for first-, second- and third-team All-MW with their player of the year pick receiving 15 points and the last man on the third-team receiving one point.

The coaches poll conducted by the Mountain West will be released later this week.

All-league voting results, with point totals:

All-Mountain West First Team

G Gian Clavell, Colorado State, Sr. — 154
G Marcus Marshall, Nevada, Sr. — 147
F Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State, Sr. — 132
F Brandon Clarke, San Jose State, So. — 129
F Cameron Oliver, Nevada, So. — 118

All-Mountain West Second Team

G/F Chandler Hutchison, Boise State, Jr. — 113
G Elijah Brown, New Mexico, Jr. — 106
F Jordan Caroline, Nevada, So. — 88
F Jalen Moore, Utah State, Sr. — 80
G Deshon Taylor, Fresno State, So. — 58

All-Mountain West Third Team

G D.J. Fenner, Nevada, Sr. — 51
G Koby McEwen, Utah State, Fr. — 31
G Trey Kell, San Diego State, Jr. — 28
G Jaron Hopkins, Fresno State, Jr. — 24
G Jovan Mooring, UNLV, Jr. — 14

All-Mountain West Honorable Mention

Hayden Graham, Air Force; Prentiss Nixon, CSU; Dakarai Allen, San Diego State; Zylan Cheatham, San Diego State; Paris Austin, Boise State; Hayden Dalton, Wyoming; Justin James, Wyoming; Tim Williams, New Mexico.

Individual awards

Player of the Year: Gian Clavell, Colorado State (4)
(others receiving votes: Marcus Marshall, Nevada; Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State; Cameron Oliver, Nevada)

Coach of the Year: Larry Eustachy, Colorado State (8)
(others receiving votes: Eric Musselman, Nevada; Dave Wojcik, San Jose State)

Newcomer of the Year: Marcus Marshall, Nevada (8)
(others receiving votes: Jordan Caroline, Nevada; Deshon Taylor, Fresno State)

Freshman of the Year: Koby McEwen, Utah State (11)

Defensive Player of the Year: Cameron Oliver, Nevada (4)
(others receiving votes: Dakarai Allen, San Diego State; Brandon Clarke, San Jose State; Emmanuel Omogbo, Colorado State; Jaron Hopkins, Fresno State)

Sixth Man of the Year: Justin James, Wyoming (7)
(others receiving votes: Paris Austin, Boise State; Hayden Dalton, Wyoming)

To view the Mountain West’s preseason all-conference media selections, CLICK HERE.