Delivery alert

There may be an issue with the delivery of your newspaper. This alert will expire at NaN. Click here for more info.

Recover password

Daniels Fund announces 30 NM scholarship recipients

The late Bill Daniels, cable television pioneer, created the Daniels Fund scholarship initiative for students in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Arizona.

The late Bill Daniels, cable television pioneer, created the Daniels Fund scholarship initiative for students in Colorado, New Mexico, Utah and Arizona.

ALBUQUERQUE, N.M. — The Daniels Fund has announced 30 New Mexico high school seniors whose “exceptional character, leadership, and commitment to the community have earned” a spot in the Daniels Scholarship Program.

Nearly 2,000 students applied for the Daniels Scholarship Program, which selects students from New Mexico, Colorado, Utah and Wyoming for scholarships.

The program allows awardees to attend any accredited nonprofit college or university in the United States, paying for all expenses that remain after all other scholarships and financial aid for each student has been applied, organizers said in a news release.

“We provide Daniels Scholars with resources, encouragement and support far beyond financial assistance to help them earn a four-year college degree,” said Linda Childears, president and CEO of the Daniels Fund, in a statement. “Our goal is to help each Daniels Scholar succeed in college and ultimately become independent, successful in a rewarding career, and actively engaged in their community.”

The New Mexico Daniels Fund scholars are: Jose Alfredo Soto, Amy Biehl Charter High School; Patrick Nathaniel Needham, Animas High School; Monica Renee LeRouge-Benavidez, Capital High School; Jessica Embry Sipos, Capital High School; Adriana McWilliams, Capital High School; Miguel Angel Lopez, Deming High School; Jessica Lynn Garcia, Estancia High School; Karina Soriano, Gadsden High School; Kyler Emerson Edsitty, Gallup High School; Pholopater Boshra Faltas, Highland High School; Matthew Wayne Shoults Gomez, Hobbs High School; Jonathan Sarmiento, Hobbs High School; Destry William Palmer, Kirtland Central High School; Alfredo Matthew Torres, Las Cruces High School; Candace Nicole Johnston, Los Lunas High School; Alyssa Maelene Gallegos, Manzano High School; Kelsey Angelica Padilla, Middle College High School; Isaac John Barela, Moriarty High School; Natalie Nicole Chambers, Nex+Gen Academy; Verona Camille Gomez, Onate High School; Eli Deuteronomy Sanchez, Pojoaque Valley High School; Tamara Dawn Menges, Reserve High School; Alejandro Olvera, Roswell High School; Poojan Karnik, Ruidoso High School; Zoe Jasmine Whittle, Santa Fe Waldorf School; Betel Alexis Hernandez, Santa Teresa High School; Elizabeth Anne Pacheco, Taos Academy Charter School; Khaled Ziad Khweis, Taos High School; Roberto Julian Martinez, Taos High School; and Brendon James Akoni Armstead, V. Sue Cleveland High School.

More than 3,700 students have received the Daniels Scholarship. At any given time, nearly 1,000 Daniels Scholars are attending more than 200 colleges and universities throughout the United States. Since 2000, more than $154 million in scholarships has been awarded.

“Motivated” high school seniors graduating in 2018 are encouraged to visit this fall to apply online. The private, charitable foundation fund was established by cable television pioneer Bill Daniels.

A complete list of awards is at:

We welcome suggestions for the daily Bright Spot. Send to


Albuquerque Journal and its reporters are committed to telling the stories of our community.

• Do you have a story about how coronavirus has affected you, your family or your business? Do you have a question you want someone to try to answer for you? What issues related to the topic would you like to see covered? Or do you have a bright spot you want to share in these troubling times?
   We want to hear from you. Please email or Contact the writer.

More on ABQjournal